9 May 1975

Pos LW Weeks Song Artist
1 1 9 Love Hurts  – Nazareth
2 12 2 As Soon as I Hang Up the Phone  – Loretta Lynn & Conway Twitty
3 7 5 Mandy  – Barry Manilow
4 3 8 Shame, Shame, Shame  – Shirley & Company
5 2 10 Ms Grace  – Tymes
6 6 4 Private Number  – Lionel Petersen
7 9 7 I’ll Take You There  – Staple Singers
8 5 7 In the Summernight  – Teach In
9 11 4 You Can Have Her  – Sam Neely
10 4 13 I Can Help  – Billy Swan
11 8 5 Never Can Say Goodbye  – Gloria Gaynor
12 10 14 Please Mr. Postman  – Carpenters
13 New 1 I Do, I Do, I Do, I Do, I Do  – ABBA
14 20 2 If  – Telly Savalas
15 13 3 Lady  – Styx
16 17 2 Storybook Children  – Sammy Brown
17 14 17 You Ask Me To  – Bobby Angel
18 19 3 Down Down  – Status Quo
19 New 1 Jou Hart is Weer Myne  – Heintje
20 New 1 Viva Espana (Forever A Song In My Heart)  – Boones

‘Love Hurts’ by Nazareth became the 33rd song to spend at least 5 weeks at the top of the charts as it held off the challenge from The Tymes’ ‘Ms Grace’. The latter dropped from 2 to 5 after it had spent 2 weeks at 2. The new challenger jumped to number 2 with a huge 10 place leap. Taking the climber of the week award, ‘As Soon As I Hang Up The Phone’ by Loretta Lynn and Conway Twitty gave us tha 57th time a song had jumped 10 or more places in a week.

There were 2 other star raters this week with Barry Manilow’s ‘Mandy’ moving up 4 from 7 to 3 and Telly Savalas’ ‘If’ climbing 6 from 20 to 14.

Falling honours went to Billy Swan’s ‘I Can Help’ which dropped 6 from 4 to 10.

For a second week running we had 3 songs leave the charts and, obviously, 3 new entries. The first to go was Neil Herbert’s ‘She’s A Woman’ which lasted 22 weeks and spent 1 of those at 1. This would be his only SA chart hit. It had been the oldest on the charts for the past 10 weeks. The new oldest song was Bobby Angel’s ‘You Ask Me To’ which was sitting on 17 weeks.

Also going was The Stylistics’ ‘You Make Me Feel Brand New’ which lasted 13 weeks and peaked at 6. This would be their only SA chart hit.

Last to go was Bachman-Turner Overdrive’s ‘You Ain’t Seen Nothing Yet’ which had spent 20 weeks on the charts and had taken over the number 1 spot from fellow leaver, ‘She’ A Woman’, and gone on to spend 5 weeks at the top of our charts. Bachman-Turner Overdrive would see another hit chart.

The first of our new entries had the highest debut position for an Abba hit to date. ‘I Do, I Do, I Do, I Do, I Do’ came crashing in at 13. Of their 3 previous hits, 2 had entered the charts at 16 (‘Ring, Ring’ and ‘Hasta Manana’) while their other hit, ‘Waterloo’ only started its top 20 life at 19. ‘I Do, I Do, I Do, I Do, I Do’ managed to get to number 38 in the UK and would have to wait until 1976 to get to 15 in the US. Elsewhere it topped the Australian, New Zealand and Swiss Charts and went top 10 in Austria, Belgium, Holland, France, Germany, Norway and Zimbabwe. The song features the saxophone sound of 1950s orchestra leader Billy Vaughn who had had 28 Hot 100 hits in the US, including a number 2 hit with ‘Melody Of Love’ in 1955. ‘I Do, I Do, I Do, I Do, I Do’ was the 5th song by a Swedish act to chart and this put Sweden tied 11th on the list of hits from a nation.

Our second new entry set a new record to date for the biggest gap between hits by an act from the non big 3 nations. We had last seen Heintje on the charts on 28 February 1969, 6 years, 2 months and 11 days ago. This 323 week gap was the 4th biggest overall. ‘Jou Hart Is Weer Myne’ was the 12th song by a Dutch act to chart and this put Holland in tied 6th place with Australia for hits from a nation. Heintje’s full name was Heintje Simons. ‘Jou Hart Is Weer Myne’ was his second hit and was actually an Afrikaans one, making it the 20th Afrikaans hit to make the charts.

Our final new entry was a cover of the song ‘Viva Espana’ (sometimes called ‘Y Viva Espana’). The version that made our top 20 was by The Boones, but the one that seemed to have most success globally was by Sylvia (surname Vrethammar) who took it to number 4 in the UK. The song was credited to The Boones who were Pat Boones’ daughters Cherry, Lindy, Laury and Debby, however, listening to it, there is a male vocalist who, one assumes was Pat and it should really have been credited to The Pat Boone Family in the same way their earlier hit ‘Please Mr Postman’ had. Their version of ‘Viva Espana’ was produced by Mike Curb who (with his Congregation) had had a hit in SA in 1970 with ‘Burning Bridges’.

Youtube playlist:

Leave a Reply

